Home Other Sports Cricket Federation names 16 for Rwanda Tour, World Cup Qualifier

Cricket Federation names 16 for Rwanda Tour, World Cup Qualifier

The Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF) has named 16 female players that will fly the country’s flag at the Rwanda Tour, ahead of the Bilateral Series against their East African counterpart, holding later this month in Abuja.

According to the Secretary-General of NCF, Taiwo Oriss, the final selection was chosen after five trial matches in a week-long camping held in Kaduna.

The Rwanda Tour holds on January 23 to 30 and it is a five-match series comprising of two (2) One Day Internationals of 40 overs and three (3) T-20 games. All matches will be played on the turf pitch, Package B” National Stadium, Abuja.

Aside from the Bilateral Series against Rwanda, the Nigeria team has been listed among the teams invited by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to participate in the 2019 ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers billed for Harare, Zimbabwe from May 3 to 13, 2019.

The Nigeria National Female team will also participate in the world cup qualifier with other countries like Kenya, Mozambique, Namibia, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda and host Zimbabwe. Both countries are using the bilateral series as part of the preparations for the tournament in May.

The selected players include Ephraim Grace, Obulor Agatha, Igbobie Abigail, Fyneface Fate, Agazuma Samantha, Esiegbe Favour, Ayoka Hannah, Etim Blessing, Nwobodo Blessing, Efosa Joy, Frank Blessing, Abdulquadri Taiwo, Samson Rachael, Desmond Mary, Seaman Timi and George Ogechi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here