Home Women Football AWCON 2018: Emotions Will Flow In Ghana -Van-Wyk, Banyana Skipper

AWCON 2018: Emotions Will Flow In Ghana -Van-Wyk, Banyana Skipper


Jannie Van Wyk, South Africa Captain says the upcoming Women’s Africa Cup of Nations final will be an emotional one for them

South Africa are among top rated female teams from Africa and are expected to make it through to the Nations Cup semi-finals and qualify for next year’s Women World Cup in France.

The 31-year-old who was named in the 21 woman squad for the finals in Ghana said ” It is an emotional one for some of us as it is our last opportunity to qualify for the World Cup which we have never done before”. The tournament begins on 17 November and ends on December 1.

Head coach Desiree Ellis has included two uncapped players in the squad in Amanda Mthandi of University of Johannesburg and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Tiisetso Makhubela. She also included 13 players who represented South Africa at the last Nations Cup in Cameroon, where they finished fourth.

Ellis explained that ” “It was a difficult task to pin down the final 21 players as they all raised their hands to show how much they want to be part of this magnificent team”.

She said “But I am confident that the players we have chosen will do the business for South Africa. Too many times we have been close to winning the tournament and I think with the preparations we have had, we feel ready for the competition.”

The squad have been in a training camp since Sunday, 21 October, and will travel to Ghana on Friday, 9 November.

They will open their account with a clash against the Super Falcons on November 18, followed by an encounter against Equatorial Guinea three days later in Cape Coast.

And then their final Group B match will be against their Southern Africa rivals; Zambia in Accra on 24 November.

South Africa squad:

Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns), Kaylin Swart (Menlo College USA, awaiting international transfer), Roxanne Barker (University of Western Cape)

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe, Noko Matlou (both Ma-Indies FC Polokwane), Nothando Vilakazi (Palace Super Falcons FC), Janine Van Wyk (Houston Dash, USA, awaiting international transfer), Bambanani Mbane (Bloemfontein Celtic), Tiisetso Makhubela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Koketso Tlailan (TUT-PTA Pretoria)

Midfielders: Kgaelebane Mohlakoana (Bloemfontein Celtic), Mamello Makhabane, Nompumelelo Nyandeni (both JVW FC Johannesburg), Leandra Smeda (Gintra Universitetas, Lithuania), Linda Motlhalo (Houston Dash, USA), Busisiwe Ndimeni (TUT-PTA Pretoria), Refiloe Jane (Canberra United, Australia)

Strikers: Jermaine Seoposenwe (JVW FC Johannesburg), Thembi Kgatlana (Houston Dash, USA), Melinda Kgadiete (Bloemfontein Celtic), Amanda Mthandi (University of Johannesburg)

Standby players: Hildah Magaia (TUT-PTA Pretoria), Kholosa Biyana (UKZN Durban), Rachel Sebati (TUT-PTA Pretoria), Thato Letsoso (University of Johannesburg)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here