UEFA Nations League

Home UEFA Nations League
The UEFA Nations League is a biennial international association football competition contested by the senior men's national teams of the member associations of UEFA, the sport's European governing body. The first tournament began in September 2018, following the 2018 FIFA World Cup. The inaugural UEFA Nations League is underway in 2018 autumn, with matches taking place in September, October and November. A total of 55 teams participate in the brand new venture and the make-up of the first edition is known, with all the fixtures set. There are a spate of interesting match-ups to look forward to but the tournament still prompts a sense of bewilderment among casual observers. At the top end - in League A - the winners of each of the four groups progress to the finals, where they will fight it out to become Nations League champions. The competition will also incorporate promotion and relegation, so teams can ascend or descend the ranks depending on their performances. Four teams - those that finish bottom in their groups - will be relegated from Leagues A to B, B to C and C to D. Conversely, four teams - those that finish top of their groups - will be promoted from Leagues D to C, C to B and B to A.