Home Athletics IAAF Announces Teams For Ostrava Continental Meet

IAAF Announces Teams For Ostrava Continental Meet

The IAAF has announced the teams that would participate in the IAAF Continental Cup taking place in Ostrava from 8th to 9th September 2018.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group

The schedule for the event will see teams competing from 2:30 pm till 5:56 pm the first day, while it would end at dusk the following day.

The event which holds every four years since its inception in 1977, last took place in 2014 at the Marrakech (Le Grande Stade) in Morocco.

With ten days left to the event, the four teams competing in the event were also announced.

The Asian-Pacific team is set to feature many of the leading athletes from Asia to Oceania, including the likes of World 400m hurdles leader, Abderraham Samba, world shot put champions, Gong Lijiao and Tom Walsh, world 400m silver medalist, Salwa Eid Naser and world indoor 60m silver medalist Su Bingtian.

The African team features many of the top performers from the recent African Championships in Asaba, which took place between  August 1st and 5th 2018, including world and Olympic steeplechase champion Conseslus Kipruto, world and Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya, world 1500m champion Elijah Manangoi and world 5000m champion Hellen Obiri.

The Confederación Sudamericana de Atletismo (ConSudAtle) and the North American, Central American and Caribbean Athletics Association (NACAC) also announced the America’s team for the IAAF Continental Cup Ostrava 2018. They include,  several of the leading performers from the recent NACAC Championships and Central American & Caribbean Games, and includes world pole vault champion Sam Kendricks, Olympic shot put champion Ryan Crouser, Olympic triple jump champions Christian Taylor and Caterine Ibarguen, Olympic long jump champion Jeff Henderson and 100m hurdles world record holder, Kendra Harrison.

The team features several of the leading performers from the recent European Championships and includes the likes of triple European champion Dina Asher-Smith, European 1500m champion Jakob Ingebrigtsen, world 400m hurdles champion Karsten Warholm, world pole vault record-holder Renaud Lavillenie, world discus champion Andrius Gudzius, world and Olympic pole vault champion Katerina Stefanidi, world and Olympic discus champion Sandra Perkovic, world and Olympic hammer champion Anita Wlodarczyk and world 200m champions Ramil Guliyev and Dafne Schippers.

The team also includes four Czech stars who’ll be competing before their own fans at Ostrava’s Mestsky Stadium: shot putter Tomas Stanek, this year’s world indoor bronze medallist; Jakub Vadlejch, the 2017 world silver medallist in the javelin; European 1500m finalist Simona Vrzalova; and Nikola Ogrodnikova, the European javelin silver medallist.

The event is opening with the Women’s Hammer Throw Final and will end with 4×400 meters relay final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here