Home Football New Winners Set To Emerge As FIFA Name Nominees For...

New Winners Set To Emerge As FIFA Name Nominees For Women’s Best Player Award

The Best FIFA Women’s Player award is certain to change hands after FIFA revealed the final three nominees for this year’s award on Tuesday.

Follow this link to join our WhatsApp group

Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Maroszán, who enjoyed an unbeaten season in the French Division 1 Feminine season and helped the club to win the UEFA Women’s Champions League, are joined by Brazil’s triumphant Copa America Feminina captain Marta in contending for the honour.

Ten shortlisted nominees was streamlined to three and they are England’s Lucy Bronze, who won League and UEFA Women’s Champions League double in her maiden season in France,  Pernille Harder, helped Wolfsburg life Frauen-Bundesliga, scoring League high in 17 goals, Amandine Henry, helped Lyon win Ligue 1 feminine and UEFA Women’s  champion’s league double.

In the list also is Samnatha Kerr,who happens to be the Top scorer in 2017 NWSL with 17 goals for Sky Blue FC, Saki Kumangai ,who won League and UEFA Women’s Champions league double with Lyon, Megan Rapinde ,who scored 12 goals in 18 NWSL games for Seattle Reign in 2017 campaign, the last on the list is Wendie Renard, who earned 100th Les Bleues cap in April 2018, in a 8-0 friendly victory over Nigeria.

Carli Anne Llyod became the first female player to win the award in 2016 but unfortunately, her name is missing from this year ’s shortlist which have now pave way for either Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Maroszán and Marta.

The shortlisted candidates in this year’s edition must have dazzled for their various clubs last season and has been vital for both their clubs and countries.

Ada Hegerberg

She won the 2016 UEFA Best women’s player in Europe Awards in 2016 and in 2017 was named BBC Women’s Footballer of the year.

BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2017

UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe 2016

FIFA Pro: FIFA FIF Pro world XI 2016


Brazilian’s player nicknamed ‘Pele in Skirts’, Marta, has won the FIFA World’s Player of the Year for 5 consecutive years from 2006 till 2010.

FIFA World Player of the Year – 2006, 2007,2008,2009,2010.

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden shoe -2007

FIFA Women’s World Cup Golden Ball –

Women’s professional soccer Golden Boot -2009,2010 and 2011

Dzsenifer Marozsán

Dzsenifer Marozsán won Female Footballer of the Year in Germany 2017, and 2018 consecutively.

Female Footballer of the Year in Germany 2017 and 2018

UNFP Female player of the year 2016-2017

FIFA U-20 women’s World cup Golden Ball 2012

With this the stage is now set for one of these aforementioned players to win the next FIFA Best award, Women’s category as the event is set to hold on September 24 at the Royal event in London.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here